New South Wales and South Australian border information

Advice for people arriving from interstate

From 11.59pm on 26 February 2021, you will need to apply for a permit to enter Victoria from anywhere in Australia or New Zealand. 

Areas will be designated green, orange or red zones by the Chief Health Officer (CHO) based on public health advice. Restrictions will apply for different zones.

You will be able to apply for a permit online at Services Victoria or by calling the Coronavirus hotline on 1800 675 398.

Based on current health advice, information on the different zones can be found at

Each adult needs their own permit.

If you reach the border without a valid Victorian Border Crossing Permit, you will be turned away at the border and face a possible fine.

The only exception is those living in border communities in New South Wales where locals require photo ID to prove their residential address.

South Australia border information

Please visit the South Australian Goverment Covid-19 website to ensure you are permitted to travel before you board your service or book your ticket.

All travellers entering South Australia, regardless of where they are travelling from, are required to complete a Cross Border Travel Registration at least 7 days before travelling.

Interstate rail and coach services

V/Line trains and coaches are running as normal across the New South Wales and South Australian borders.