Notification

Public transport during the 2017 / 2018 cruise ship season

Added: 5 October 2017

We extend a warm welcome to all cruise ship passengers arriving at Station Pier in Port Melbourne.

Public transport is the perfect way for you to get around the city and take in the sights, before you travel back to the ship and set sail on the next chapter of your journey.

PTV has made using public transport during your stay easy. Simply purchase a myki Explorer pack which allows you to travel within metropolitan Melbourne and get discounts to a number of attractions. You can purchase this at Station Pier from the PTV ticket booth.

To travel into Melbourne, catch the Bus 109 City Express from Station Pier, this will take you directly into the city to the Arts Centre on St Kilda Road. 

The first cruise ship will arrive in Port Melbourne on 12 October 2017, with ships to arrive every few days until 7 June 2018.

During cruise ship season, local passengers in the Port Melbourne area who catch Route 109 trams are encouraged to allow extra travel time as trams to the city are likely to be busy.

Cruise ship passengers

Local passengers

Cruise ship passengers

Travel from Station Pier to Melbourne city

Your ship will arrive at Station Pier in Port Melbourne, six kilometres from Melbourne city. To travel into the city, you can take Bus 109 City Express to the Arts Centre on St Kilda Road.

From here you can walk or continue your journey via tram into the city.

The bus shuttle and trams cost a normal public transport fare and you must travel with a myki which you can buy at the PTV ticket booth inside the Cruise Terminal.

Travelling to the city

You can catch either a tram or a bus from Port Melbourne into the city, however the shuttle bus is the only service that runs directly from Station Pier into the city.

The Bus 109 City Express shuttle runs direct from the Cruise Terminal on Station Pier to the city, stopping outside the Arts Centre on St Kilda Road. The journey takes approximately 20 minutes.

Bus frequency:

Morning (8am – noon): every five to seven minutes
Lunch (Noon – 2pm): every 15 to 20 minutes
Afternoon (2pm – 5pm): every 10 to 15 minutes

Route 109 trams also run from Port Melbourne (Beacon Cove) tram stop to the city via Collins, Spencer, Clarendon and Station streets. From the Cruise Terminal on Station Pier, you will need to walk 560 metres to the tram stop.

Tram frequency:

Weekday trams run every 5 to 6 minutes during peak times and every 10 to 12 minutes at all other times.

Weekend trams run every 12 to 20 minutes.

Detailed route information: Route 109 - Port Melbourne to Box Hill (via City)

Travel from Melbourne city to Station Pier 

Bus shuttle to Station Pier

You must catch the Bus 109 Express shuttle directly to Station Pier, departing from the Arts Centre Melbourne.

Bus frequency:

Morning (8am – noon): every five to seven minutes
Lunch (Noon – 2pm): every 15 to 20 minutes
Afternoon (2pm – 5pm): every 10 to 15 minutes

Tram to Station Pier

Route 109 trams also run from the city to the Port Melbourne (Beacon Cove) tram stop via Collins, Spencer, Clarendon and Station streets. From the tram stop, you will need to walk 560 metres back to the Cruise Terminal on Station Pier.

Tram frequency:

Weekday trams run every 5 to 6 minutes during peak times and every 10 to 12 minutes at all other times.

Weekend trams run every 12 to 20 minutes.

Detailed route information: Route 109 - Port Melbourne to Box Hill (via City)

Map of Station Pier

 PTVH2634 Cruise Ship Season 2017 Map v1 FA LOCKED page 001 1

Public transport tickets 

myki is your ticket to travel on Melbourne’s trains, trams and buses, including the bus shuttles.

The cost of travel to areas outside of Melbourne depends on where you are going, for more information see Regional fares 2017.

myki Explorer pack

The myki Explorer pack contains a myki card with enough value for one day’s travel in Melbourne, discounts to various Melbourne attractions including Melbourne Aquarium and Eureka Skydeck, a protective souvenir wallet and instructions on how to use myki.

You can buy myki Explorer packs at the PTV ticket booth, located in the upper level foyer of the Cruise Terminal.

The myki Visitor Value Pack is available for full fare, senior, concession and child visitors.

  • A full fare myki Visitor Value Pack costs $15 and includes $9 myki money for travel.
  • A concession, child or seniors myki Visitor Value Pack costs $7.50 and includes $4.50 myki money for travel.

Only Australian cash dollars are accepted. There are no Currency Exchange, Credit Card or EFTPOS facilities in the Cruise Terminal.

If you want to travel beyond Zone 2, then you will need to top up your myki with additional myki money.

If you are staying in Melbourne for more than one day, or you plan to return to Melbourne in the future, then hold on to your myki card so you can top it up and continue to use public transport.

Contact Public Transport Victoria for more information 

Public transport staff will be available at the Cruise Terminal to help you find your way to the PTV ticket booth and bus shuttle services. You can also drop in to the PTV Hub at Southern Cross Station or call PTV on 1800 800 007.

You can also download the free PTV Mobile App for both iPhone and Android. The PTV mobile apps allow you to view service times, use the journey planner and set your favourite stops throughout Victoria for faster access to public transport information on the go.

Local passengers

Local passengers: allow extra travel time for your journey into the city

If you live locally and catch Route 109 trams into the city, please plan ahead when the cruise ships sail into Port Melbourne. Some visitors will catch tram Route 109 into the city to see the sights, take in Melbourne's culture and enjoy everything this city has to offer.

If you do catch this tram, please allow extra time for your journey as services may be busier than usual. Check below to see when the cruise ships will arrive in Port Melbourne.

Cruise ship arrival dates 

Check the list below to find out when the cruise ships will arrive at Station Pier in Port Melbourne.

Please note: this list may be subject to change. Turnaround boats are not listed as we do not provide public transport for these ships.

List of cruise ships and arrival dates in Melbourne
Arrival dayArrival dateShip name
Thursday 12 October 2017 Sun Princess
Tuesday 24 October 2017 Noordam
Friday 27 October 2017 Golden Princess
Wednesday 1 November 2017 Celebrity Solstice
Friday 3 November 2017 Voyager of the Seas
Monday 6 November 2017 Pacific Jewel
Tuesday 7 November 2017 Carnival Spirit*
Pacific Jewel*
Pacific Dawn*
Wednesday 8 November 2017 Pacific Jewel
Pacific Dawn
Carnival Spirit
Thursday 9 November 2017 Carnival Spirit
Thursday 16 November 2017 Pacific Jewel*
Friday 17 November 2017 Maasdam*
Saturday 18 November 2017 Noordam
Sunday 19 November 2017 Norwegian Jewel
Monday 20 November 2017 Pacific Jewel*
Tuesday 21 November 2017 Celebrity Solstice
Wednesday 22 November 2017 Celebrity Solstice
Thursday 23 November 2017 Noordam
Saturday 25 November 2017 Pacific Jewel*
Monday 27 November 2017 Celebrity Solstice
 Tuesday 28 November 2017   Pacific Jewel*
Friday  1 December 2017 Golden Princess*
Saturday 2 December 2017 Norwegian Jewel
Sunday 3 December 2017 Pacific Jewel*
Thursday 7 December 2017 Silver Shadow
Seabourn Encore
Saturday 9 December 2017 Pacific Jewel*
Monday 11 December 2017 Explorer of the Seas
Tuesday 12 December 2017 Pacific Jewel*
Wednesday  13 December 2017 Diamond Princess
Thursday 14 December 2017 Diamond Princess
Friday 15 December 2017 Golden Princess
Saturday 16 December 2017 Pacific Jewel*
Sunday 17 December 2017 Norwegian Jewel
Regatta
Monday 18 December 2017 Noordam
Tuesday 19 December 2017 Celebrity Solstice
Wednesday  20 December 2017 Radiance of the Seas
Thursday  21 December 2017 Golden Princess*
Saturday  23 December 2017 Celebrity Solstice
Monday 25 December 2017 Maasdam
Wednesday 27 December 2017 Pacific Jewel*
Sunday 31 December 2017 Silver Shadow
Monday  1 January 2018 Silver Shadow
Wednesday 3 January 2018 Golden Princess*
Saturday  6 January 2018 Silver Shadow
Sunday  7 January 2018 Norwegian Jewel
Monday 8 January 2018 Pacific Jewel*
 Wednesday 10 January 2018   Golden Princess*
 Friday 12 January 2018   Pacific Jewel*
Tuesday  16 January 2018 Maasdam
Thursday  18 January 2018 Seabourn Encore
Friday 19 January 2018 Regatta
Pacific Eden
Saturday 20 January 2018 Maasdam
Pacific Eden
Sunday 21 January 2018 Pacific Explorer
Monday 22 January 2018 Pacific Explorer
Noordam
 Tuesday 23 January 2018   Golden Princess*
Wednesday 24 January 2018 Pacific Jewel* 
Seabourn Encore
Thursday  25 January 2018 Regatta
Friday 26 January 2018 Regatta
Saturday 27 January 2018 Radiance of the Seas
Monday 29 January 2018 Golden Princess*
Tuesday 30 January 2018 Pacific Jewel*
 Wednesday 31 January 2018   Ocean Dream
Saturday 3 February 2018 Noordam
Sunday 4 February 2018 Pacific Jewel*
Monday 5 February 2018 Celebrity Solstice
Azamara Journey
Tuesday 6 February 2018 Carnival Legend*
Thursday 8 February 2018 Viking Sun
Diamond Princess
Sunday 11 February 2018 Golden Princess*
Monday 12 February 2018 Crystal Symphony
Tuesday 13 February 2018 Crystal Symphony
Wednesday 14 February 2018 Pacific Eden
Thursday 15 February 2018 Europa*
Friday 16 February 2018 Pacific Jewel*
Silver Whisper
Saturday  17 February 2018 Carnival Legend*
Sunday 18 February 2018 Queen Mary 2
Monday 19 February 2018 Seabourn Encore
Astor
Tuesday  20 February 2018 Pacific Jewel*
Wednesday  21 February 2018 Carnival Legend*
Thursday 22 February 2018 Queen Mary 2
Seven Seas Voyager
Friday 23 February 2018 Seven Seas Voyager
Saturday 24 February 2018 Golden Princess*
Sunday 25 February 2018 Pacific Jewel*
Monday  26 February 2018 Noordam
Wednesday  28 February 2018 Diamond Princess
Thursday  1 March 2018 Pacific Jewel*
Friday 2 March 2018 Pacific Eden*
Saturday 3 March 2018 Carnival Legend*
Monday 5 March 2018 Pacific Jewel*
Tuesday 6 March 2018 Carnival Legend*
Thursday 8 March 2018 Diamond Princess
Radiance of the Seas
Friday 9 March 2018 Pacific Eden*
Saturday  10 March 2018 Golden Princess*
Sunday 11 March 2018 Celebrity Solstice
Monday 12 March 2018 Pacific Eden*
Wednesday  14 March 2018 Explorer of the Seas
Thursday 15 March 2018 Golden Princess*
Friday 16 March 2018 Carnival Legend*
Saturday  17 March 2018 Pacific Eden*
Monday 19 March 2018 Carnival Legend*
Tuesday 20 March 2018 Pacific Eden*
Saturday  24 March 2018 Pacific Eden*
Tuesday 27 March 2018 Pacific Eden*
Wednesday  28 March 2018 Sea Princess
Saturday 31 March 2018 Pacific Eden*
Wednesday 11 April 2018 Pacific Eden*
Friday 11 May 2018 Insignia
Wednesday  6 June 2018 Pacific Explorer
Thursday  7 June 2018 Pacific Explorer

*Shuttles not provided - passengers will need to use Route 109 trams

>top