Major disruptions on metropolitan trains

Major disruptions on metropolitan trains in summer

We encourage you to plan ahead to avoid long delays, allow more time for your journey and consider alternatives if you can during the works.

Please be aware there may also be more people using the roads, or an alternative line or route, if their usual journey is disrupted. 

There'll also be a range of other smaller disruptions for essential works across the network. Plan ahead before you travel by checking our Disruptions page or by using Journey planner.

December disruptions

December
Line Disruption Works start Works finish
Mernda Line

Buses replace trains between Thornbury and Mernda

Note: Bus replacement sections will extend and reduce during this period

Tuesday 3 December Sunday 15 December
Frankston  Buses replace trains between Moorabbin and Frankston 9.15pm Friday 6 December  Sunday 8 December

January disruptions

January
Line Disruption Works start Works finish
Cranbourne, Pakenham and Frankston lines

Buses replace trains on sections of the lines

Thursday 2 January Thursday 30 January
Sandringham Line

Buses replace trains at various times on the Sandringham line between Parliament and Elsternwick

Thursday 2 January Thursday 30 January

February disruptions

February
Line Disruption Work start Works finish
Frankston and Stony Point lines Buses replace trains between Moorabbin and Frankston/Stony Point Sunday 2 February Sunday 16 February
Upfield Line

Buses replace trains between North Melbourne and Upfield

9pm Friday 7 February Sunday 9 February

Subscribe for weekly travel updates

Keep up to date with planned disruptions on your line or route and across the network by subscribing to our weekly travel update email.

Follow us on social media

For official updates and event information, follow us on Twitter. For news, inspiration, hints and tips on Victoria’s public transport network, follow us on Facebook.